Sri Lanka Cricket announces new ODI, T20I captains for Pakistan series

Posted In: News Date:Sep 10th, 2019

COLOMBO (Dunya News) – After Sri Lanka T20I captain Lasith Malinga and ODI skipper Dimuth Karunaratne pulled out of upcoming Pakistan tour, Sri Lanka Cricket has announced the names of new captains, Dunya News reported on Tuesday.

According to details, 30-year-old Lahiru Thirimanne will lead the Islanders in the ODIs while the T20 team will be guided by Dasun Shanaka who celebrated his 28th birthday on Monday.

Ten Sri Lankan players – including Lasith Malinga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal and Dinesh Chandimal – had on Monday pulled out of the tour citing security concerns.

The Sri Lankan cricket board said national players were briefed on security arrangements for the six-match limited over series, and given the freedom to decide if they wanted to travel.

The tour has been seen as another step towards reviving international cricket in Pakistan after years of isolation.